Course Name: Concealed Carry – Multi State (Oregon, Utah and Arizona)
Training Contractor: 540 Tactical
Course Description: This class is open to Tri-County Gun Club Members and their bona fide guests only. This 5 hour class is unlike any other in that we really teach you what you need to understand to safely, legally and responsibly carry concealed and understand the real factors to consider in a deadly physical force scenario. It is for those who wish to obtain Concealed Carry Permit’s from either (or all) Oregon, Utah and Arizona. The advantage of attending a combined course is the ability to carry concealed in multiple states. Oregon, Utah and Arizona combined are either recognized by, or has formal reciprocity agreements with 35 other States. Most notably, Utah is recognized by Washington whereas as Oregon is not. So, for those quick trips to Vancouver you will need a Utah Concealed Carry Permit if you do not have a Washington CHL.
Our combo course meets the requirements needed to obtain all certificates of completion necessary to obtain a Concealed Handgun License (CHL) / Concealed Carry Permit (CCP) for all three states. Upon completion, you are not obligated to apply for a CHL but can then do so at your discretion subject to the requirements of each individual state.
Fingerprints and photos will be required by the State of Utah with along with your completed application and course completion certificate. An additional set of fingerprints will be required by the State of Arizona. These are included in the price of this course.
- Handgun safety, storage and security
- Handgun anatomy and handling skills
- Ammunition overview
- Oregon and Utah law related to carrying a concealed handgun and the use of deadly physical force
- Utah specific training curriculum
- Understanding the criteria that must be met to justify the use of deadly physical force
- Understanding the proper use of the Force Options
- Strategies and tactics for avoiding and/or dealing with threats without the use of deadly physical force
- Developing the proper defensive mindset
- Much, much more
It is important that each student understands that this course alone in no way fully prepares them for all of the possibilities they may encounter that may require the justified use of deadly physical force. The CHL classes are not designed to replace or supersede real, practical defensive handgun training; specifically, live fire training. At 540 Tactical we are not simply certificate signers. There are many places to obtain a basic certificate in order to fulfill the requirement to obtain a CHL. However, there are far fewer places that actually prepare their students in a meaningful way to prevail in a life threatening encounter. While not mandatory, we feel strongly that all students taking this course should also register for the Live Fire addition.
By design, it is typically offered at the end of each CHL class. Attending the Live Fire addition is a good start to developing the safe, practical and proven defensive handgun skills and mind-set necessary to prevail in a life threatening encounter. In fact, we feel so strongly about this that we will waive the course fee for the Live Fire addition if you do not see its value after completing the course.
Cost: $79, additional $35 to do live fire addition
Prerequisites: Must be able to legally possess a handgun and must bring (or rent) all required gear.
Required Gear: Please bring all handguns to class completely unloaded and in a case or gun bag and leave them there until instructed
- Must be 21 years of age unless otherwise approved
- Must be legally able to own and possess a handgun
- Must be able to provide photo identification to verify age and residency
- If choosing to attend Live Fire Class
- A center fire handgun in good working condition- no sharing of handguns permitted between students – ideally, we suggest the gun you use for personal/home defense
- 150 rounds of factory new ammunition. ABSOLUTELY NO RELOADS
- A sturdy belt for that will support your gun and loaded magazines in a mag pouch.
- An approved belt holster as detailed below:
- All Holsters must be external hip/belt holsters positioned at 3:00 (or 9:00 for lefties).
- Inside the waist band (IWB) holsters, Shoulder, Appendix, Thigh or Crossdraw are holsters are not permitted in this class. No drawing from concealment is permitted in this class.
- Kydex or rigid leather style holsters are preferred as the top must remain open at all times as the shooter must be able to holster single handed.
- These holster requirements are crucial so please contact 540 Tactical directly with any questions on holster requirements.
- 3 magazines total or 2 speed loaders if using a revolver
- Magazine pouch or speed loader pouch
- Protective safety glasses that are ANSI approved wrap around safety glasses, or prescription safety glasses with side shields.
- Ear/hearing protection. Both ear plugs and ear muffs are recommended for use in the indoor range.
- A baseball style hat with a visor.
- A case for your handgun (please bring your handgun to the range in this case)
- Clothing appropriate for the weather
- All shirts must be tucked in to the waistband in order to safely draw and holster your gun.
- Sturdy outdoor type shoes/boots for gravel and grass. No sandals, flip flops or open toe shoes
Course Location: Clubhouse